[ FF EunKang/JyonHoon (ENG) | That XX – part 1 ]

Foreword :

Indonesia version will out after English version part 3 updated. Please be patient.

 

That XX

 

 

 

‘3….2….1’ Jiwon whispered to himself

As soon as the bell rang, Jiwon rushed out to get up from his chair and leave the classroom. He didn’t want to go on meeting about summer festival, and he just wanted to go home early, tried to have more sleep.

But unfortunately, Myeonghoon followed him, from the moment he rushed out to leave the classroom. Jiwon knows, Myeonghoon followed him because Danny told him to do every time he tried to escape or skip the meeting

“So..” Jiwon said and he turned his back, facing Myeonghoon, “What do you want?”

“Nothing.” Myeonghoon replied calmly, “I think I’ll skip the meeting. Same like you.”

“Why?”

“Because I’m bored. Danny has a plan to not having any guest star like the summer festival last year, and it will be the worst summer festival ever”

“I see. Since you are bored, please don’t follow me.”

“But, you are the only person who bravely skipped the meeting. So, I’ll follow you.”

“Just don’t. I decide to skip the meeting, because I want to finish my math project.”

“Don’t lie. I know that your math project is finished from two days ago.”

“Shit.” Jiwon started to run as fast as he can, tried to make a wide gap so Myeonghoon can’t follow him. He turned to right but suddenly he ran into someone. Jiwon lost his balance and felt into the floor,

“USE YOUR EYES, STUPID!” Jiwon yelled to that person, and realizes that person was Eric, 2D class president.

Eric just turned his head and examines if Jiwon is okay then he just gave Jiwon an apologetical bow and continued his way. Jiwon tried to stand up and he heard the footsteps of two persons, tried to catch him.

Suddenly, Jiwon heard someone yelled to him,

“THINKING TO SKIP THE MEETING AGAIN, EUN JIWON SSI?”

‘Crap. He caught me’ Jiwon stood up and tried to run again, but unfortunately Danny was right behind him and yelled again.

“I REPEAT, THINKING TO SKIP THE MEETING AGAIN, EUN JIWON SSI?”

“DON’T ACT LIKE YOU KNOW EVERYTHING, MR. PERFECT, I’M SEARCHING FOR FRESH AIR!”

“NONSENSE!”

“Can you two please stop yelling at each other? You two just 5 meters apart.” Myeonghoon said. “And why you are mad again?”

“His aunt!” Danny exploded, “She changed ALL summer festival plan!”

“WHAT???” Myeonghoon yelled back to Danny, “Are you serious?”

“If I’m just kidding, I wouldn’t run here, stupid.”

“Then, what’s wrong with it? She is the headmaster. She can do anything.” Jiwon said.

“The problem is, she wants to have a boygroup performing at summer festival.” Danny said, “And the boygroup will be consisted of YG Academy students.”

Jiwon thought deeply and he sighed, “Let me guess something. I am the boygroup first member.”

“Unfortunately, you are right. You are the first member.”

“Crap.” Jiwon said while Myeonghoon laughed so hard. “So the other member is….?”

“I will tell you if you attend the meeting. Right now.”

“No, thanks. Just tell my aunt, I refuse that stupid idea.”

“Oh, come on.” Danny said hopelessly, “Just go and tell her by yourself that you don’t want become the boygroup member. I’m just an informant here. Not a decision maker.”

Jiwon sighed again and said, “Okay. Let’s go to student council room”

 

***

 

Jiwon opened his eyes. That dream again.

Jiwon tried to sit, and leaned his back to the wall. He sighed deeply. Actually, it’s not a dream. It’s a fact. He was a first boygroup member from YG Academy. He didn’t remember exactly when he started to dream his high school memories every night like a drama.

“I guess, I just really wants to find him soon.”

His eyes fixated on the photo hanging nearby the clock then said, “I’ll sleep again Hoony, don’t worry. We will meet again in my dream.”

Jiwon closed his eyes and continued his dream.

 

 

YG ACADEMY, FEBRUARY 1998

 

 

“Aunt, please. You can form a boygroup, but don’t force me to become the first member!”

“I heard your rap before. Totally perfect for the first YG Academy boygroup.”

“I don’t know if you still remember or not, but my father said I must become professional marketer.”

“I remember it. Don’t worry.” Jiwon aunt said, “But, it just a shame if your talents are wasted.”

“It’s not a talent! It’s just my hobby!”

“Well, whatever. So, why do you come here, Jiwon-ssi?”

“Aunty!” Jiwon exploded, “Please search another guy for the boygroup!”

“Okay. I will.” His aunt calmly replied, “But if my mouth slipped and tell your mom that you skipped history class again, don’t blame me.”

Jiwon tried to calm down first. He lost against his aunt’s trump card. Jiwon sat quietly in a nearby chair and asked, “So, who is the second member? Danny don’t tell me who he is.”

“I’m still searching the best way to choose the second member. Any idea?”

Jiwon shook his head. His mind was empty. He can’t think anything because his aunt words before. Well, his father announced proudly back then, that Eun Jiwon, his only son, will follow his dad path as professional marketer. And rap is the only way for Jiwon to forgot all his stress due to the great pressure from his father. He tried to remember when he practiced his rap before and he was sure that he was all alone in his room. He didn’t have any idea, why his aunt knows that he loves to rap.

“Jiwon-ah, I think the best way to choose the second member is by the lottery.” she said proudly as if she won something. “And whole of YG Academy students can participate.”

“Aunt. Please think about it again. If students from elementary school was chosen, how can we practice the dancing and singing?”

“You’re right. Well, just high school students who will be participate, right?”

Jiwon nodded and yawned. This situation was far beyond his imagination. He thought that his aunt can pick someone randomly, or pick someone who has a handsome face or have a good voice not by lottery. His aunt suddenly smiles.

“Jiwon-ah.”

“Yes?”

“The lottery result is out.” said his aunt, “The second member is Kang Sunghoon.”

“Are you sure that you use lottery to pick him? That was so quick”

“Well, actually I just want him to be a boygroup member. His voice is so good. It’s just a shame if he wasted his golden voice. Plus, his love for chemistry is illogical. He always blows up chemical laboratory every two weeks.”

Jiwon rolled his eyes and said “Whoa, aunty. You secretly say that you don’t want him to be a scientist?”

“I just wants him to enjoy his high school life.”

“I don’t want to know what are you thinking about him, but can you please let we choose our path by ourselves?”

“Jiwon-ah,” said his aunt with serious tone, “Just go find him and tell him that he will be a boygroup member.”

“But, aunty…”

“Good afternoon, Jiwon-ssi. Have a nice day.”

Jiwon sighed again and greet her, “Good afternoon Ms. Park.”

Jiwon left the headmaster room. He has no choice but he just wanted to find Kang Sunghoon as soon as possible, persuaded him to refuse that idea and tell his aunt, along with Kang Sunghoon, that her plan is bad.

Actually, he just know the fact that Sunghoon is one year younger than him. He not known Sunghoon personally, and maybe Jiwon thought it might be slightly difficult to persuade him. Jiwon went to student council room, use his hidden power as student council vice president to persuade Sunghoon.

Jiwon turned on the computer and searched for Sunghoon profile. He tried to get access to some personal information and unfortunately, he didn’t know that Danny was behind him and monitored him with his eagle eyes.

“Try to find Kang Sunghoon weakness, do you?”

Jiwon jumped out from his chair. He was so surprised that Danny would come to student council at this time.

“You scared me to the death! Why you are still here, Mr. Perfect?”

“It’s not important why I’m still here. Just answer my question.”

“Tsk. Arrogant. I’m searching his weakness so I can persuade him to refuse my aunt idea.”

Danny giggled and said, “He is an obedient person. I bet my only 50,000 won that he will accept that idea.”

Jiwon looked straight into Danny’s eyes. He is not lying right now. Jiwon turned down his head and turned his back to monitor.

“Actually, your aunt idea is not bad. We will saving around 500,000 won from budgeting plan if your aunt idea success.”

“Of course, you agree with my aunt idea. We will saving some money and you’ll be bullying me until we graduated.”

“That was my point, but I agree with the point that it’s just a shame wasted your talent.”

“My aunt told you everything that we’ve talked before, didn’t she?”

“Maybe.”

Jiwon turned his back again, facing Danny, “Gezz, this people.”

“Jiwon-ah! where are you going?” said Danny while Jiwon suddenly get up from his chair, left the student council room and turned to right corridor. Jiwon didn’t reply. He just walked with stupid thought in his head. The fact that his aunt knows his love for rap is a bad situation, but if Danny knows that fact too, it will be a worse situation. His rap just so so, but why his aunt and Danny insisted his rap is same like he was blessed with the talent?

Jiwon just entered the coridor to the chemical laboratory when He saw the white fog come out from the opened door and windows. The fog was so thick, and he was not surprised to see the high school chemistry teacher, Mrs. Shin,  ran with panic expression in her face and shouted, “Kang Sunghoon-ssi !! Kang Sunghoon-ssi !!”

Sunghoon walked out from the laboratory in a while later, coughed a little before he replied, “I’m okay. Don’t worry Miss. I’m just forgot that ammonia and hydrochloric acid cannot be put together on same fume hood. I’m sorry Miss.”

Mrs Shin tried hard to not rolled up her eyes and sighed, “I’m give you a warning. Once again you sneaked to the laboratory without MY PERMISSION, YOU WILL HAVE DETENTION!”

“Yes, Miss. I’m really sorry.”

“Clear the mess, NOW! And don’t forget to tell the laboratory assistant about this incident. He must report this to Ms. Park” Mrs. Shin said and looked surprised when she saw Jiwon looked so terrified with the white fog, “What are you doing there, Eun Jiwon?”

“ahem.. I’m sorry Miss, but I’m looking for Kang Sunghoon.”

“Kang Sunghoon?”

 

 

BANG BANG BANG

 

“That stupid alarm!” Jiwon cursed loudly after he fully wake up, “In that crucial moment! Damn!” Jiwon punched his pillow and tried to calm himself. He checked the clock. 9.00 AM and shouted “FUCK! I’M LATE AGAIN!”

 

***

 

“So, hyung, when you will give up about Kang Sunghoon?”

“I don’t know.”

“Gezz, hyung. Sunghoon might be in the other side of the world and you just focused to search him in France, USA, and Singapore?”

“That was the last precious hint before he was missing, Suwon-ah. Even when I tried to search him with my family group power, he and his family cannot found everywhere in Korea.”

Suwon sighed. He misses Kang Sunghoon too but he thought Jiwon can do something better with his hidden power. How can he suddenly disappears like an ash after he graduated from YG Academy.

“He….didn’t die right?”

“No. I guaranteed 100%, he still live somewhere in this world. If he died, he will tell me in my dream.”

“You dreamt about him again, didn’t you?” Suwon asked.

“Unfortunately, Yes.” Jiwon said sadly, “I’m really a stupid person back then, right?”

“You’re still a stupid person until now.” Suwon replied and said, “Just give up hyung. Even he is still alive, maybe he is married to someone right now and you’ve got no chance.”

“I don’t care. I just want to meet and tell him, how much I longed for him”

Jiwon’s eyes fixated on his phone wallpaper. He is really missing Sunghoon like a crazy. Even when Sunghoon left him without any words before.

“Hyung.”

“Hmm.” Jiwon responded with cigarettes placed in his mouth.

“What if….” Suwon said slowly and carefully, ” What if I knew where is Sunghoon right now?”

“Tsk.” Jiwon let out bitter laughed and lighted his cigarettes, “And you will tell me a wrong information again. I remember how I rushed to Guilin and when I’m arrived, there’s no one knows who is Sunghoon.”

Suwon looked down and said, “I’m sorry for that. I don’t know that my informant would tell a lie like that. Do you mad at me because you lost you brand new Benz because of that?”

“The fact that the informant deceived me is make me mad, Suwon. I’ve been thinking to cut our friendship, but if I do that, who will hear my story about my repeated dream?”

Suwon said frustrated, “Hyung. I guaranteed 100%. Sunghoon is on Japan now.”

“I don’t want to hear that, Suwon.”

“Why?”

“Sunghoon told me, he would run away to France, USA and Singapore. Not Japan.”

“Hyung! Why you are not listening! This is true!”

“Who says if is it true?” Jiwon tried to not exploded, “Did you gone to Japan and meet Sunghoon there?”

“Well, I’m didn’t do that.”

“So, that rumor is considered false!”

“Hyung! I swear! Someone saw Sunghoon in Saitama Station a couple of weeks ago!”

“Who is someone? Jaejin? Jaeduk? Jiyong? Danny? Chilhyun?”

“Not they, but I swear it’s Sunghoon!” Suwon insisted.

“I don’t believe it until the person whom I called before seen Sunghoon.”

“Hyung..”

“Suwon-ah.” said Jiwon when he suddenly threw the cigarette butt and patted his shoulder, “Just..Let’s get back to the work, okay? I have a ton of works to review. We’ll have a time to discuss the probability of Sunghoon in Japan, okay?”

Suwon tried to talk back, but Jiwon’s bitter smile make him lost his words. He followed Jiwon to get back to their rooms.

Jaejin looked so excited when Jiwon and Suwon back to their room. He waited until Jiwon sat on his desk and whispered to Suwon, who sat beside his desk, “So?”

“He doesn’t believe the recent rumor.”

“Why?”

“Because it was not us who saw Sunghoon.”

“What a childish thought!” Jaejin whispered and seem frustrated, “But my cousin really saw him!”

“Yes, I know hyung. My girlfriend said she saw Sunghoon on the same area where your cousin saw him.” Suwon sighed. “Just wait until he dreamt again tonight and rushed to Japan because the recent rumor is true.”

“Jaejin-ah! Please come here. I need your help.” Jiwon asked.

Jaejin smiles to Suwon and cheers him, “It’s okay Suwon. He will regret it because he not listens to you.”

“I’m coming hyung!” Jaejin yelled.

 

***

 

AFTER GRADUATION PARTY, YG ACADEMY, 1999

 

“Is it true that hyung will be going to France?”

Jiwon tried hard to stay calm, but his heart is hurt whenever someone talking about France, “It is true.”

“Bad hyung. I thought we are best friend but it’s just me who didn’t know you are going to France!”

“Sorry.” Jiwon said and ruffled Sunghoon’s hair, “I always lost my word whenever I tried to tell you about my short course in Paris.”

Sunghoon moved Jiwon’s hand from his hair and hugged Jiwon, “I’ll miss you a lot, hyung.”

“Sunghoon-ah, we can still phone each other! Thus, I’ll back one day after your graduation!”

Sunghoon broke their hugs and gave Jiwon the bitter smiles ever.

 

PRESENT TIME

 

“Hyung! Hyung!” Suwon tapped Jiwon shoulder, “Are you okay?”

Jiwon opened his eyes, and momentarily looked confused. He took a deep breath before replied Suwon’s question, “I guess I’m okay.”

Suwon sighed and asked, “You dreamt about Sunghoon again?”

“Yes. But it’s strange.” Jiwon said while he pulled his hair frustrated, “Usually I dream about him consecutively, from the moment I asked him to join my aunt idea until the last moment I saw him. And suddenly, I was dreaming about the last moment I saw him yet yesterday I just dreamt about asked him to join the boygroup.”

Suwon sat on Jiwon’s desk and said, “Hyung, listen. It’s just my stupid assumption, but I think Sunghoon give you hint to listen about the rumor I’ve talked before.”

“About Sunghoon is in Japan?”

“Exactly.”

“Maybe he’s not Kang Sunghoon, Suwon-ah, maybe he just Choo Sunghoon!”

“What the hell is that? Bad jokes hyung. I’m deadly serious, Kang Sunghoon is somewhere in Japan!”

“Why you are so stubborn?”

“Because I don’t want to see hyung crying while hyung asleep!”

Jiwon freezes for a moment. Did Suwon saw him was crying when he accidentally fell asleep ten minutes ago? Jiwon knows, how bad the effect of Sunghoon missing like ash for him. Sunghoon’s missing case turned Jiwon into a crazy man who would do anything to find Sunghoon.

“I’m sorry hyung, I can’t hold it anymore. I know you always crying in your sleep and the reason you build this company, hiring me and Jaejin, so you can go to wherever Sunghoon might be there.

Jiwon smiled to Suwon who looked so apologetic and said, “It’s okay Suwon. That is a fact.”

Clover Travel Agent. One of the biggest travel agent in South Korea.

Jiwon was worked as marketing staff in this company. Seeing the existing business opportunities, Jiwon proposed to the CEO, to make a brand new travel packages that other travel agent don’t have. The famous Clover’s travel packages is a customized travel packages so you can have an itinerary same like the famous traveller blogger, Sandara Park. Jiwon also made an innovation which he visited an unknown tourist spot, and recommended it to other travel blogger who love to visit an unknown tourist destination. With that innovation, Jiwon made Clover Travel Agent as the biggest travel agent in South Korea, thus he begged Suwon, who has success as food blogger after he graduated from cooking academy, to join with Clover and helped Jiwon to make a travel package which include famous tourist spot and famous restaurant.

When Suwon joined the company, he suggested to Jiwon for recruited Jaejin, because Jaejin knows a good spot for taking a photo. After Jaejin and Jiwon made another travel package for those who loved photography, made Clover as No.1 searched travel agent in South Korea.

“Just take a rest for tonight hyung. You look so pale.”

“I think so. Jiyong still doing a research and until he finishes it, I can’t do anything.”

Suwon waited Jiwon to tidy up his desk before leaving and said “Let’s go. I’ll drive you to Yeouido tonight.”

“Thanks.”

 

***

 

YG ACADEMY, FEBRUARY 1998

 

“Just talk to Sunghoon-ssi after he cleaned up this mess.”

“But..Ms. Park told me that Sunghoon must go to the headmaster’s room as soon as possible.”

“You’re not lying, are you?”

“Miss, I swear I’m not lying. Go ask Ms. Park if you not believe me.”

“Jiwon-ssi” said Ms. Shin curiously, “She didn’t ask Sunghoon to join the boygroup, right?”

Jiwon looked a bit surprised and asked back, “Umm. I guess you know Ms. Park’s plan for summer festivals, right?”

“Of course I know. She asked Mr. Yang to compose some songs for that plan since December.” Ms. Shin tried hard to not rolling her eyes and sighed, “Okay then. Sunghoon can go with you but please tell her that Sunghoon just make another trouble in chemical laboratory.”

“I will. Thank you Miss.”

“Kang Sunghoon!” Ms Shin called Sunghoon who still busy cleaning the fume hood, “Ms. Park waited you!”

Sunghoon seems surprised because not long after Ms. Shin finished her sentence, Sunghoon broke an erlenmeyer flask and answered, “O-okay Miss.”

“Just leave the Erlenmeyer flask. The laboratory assistant will clean the mess after you leave.”

Sunghoon came out from the laboratory and followed Jiwon to headmaster room, and quietly asked, “Why Ms. Park calls me?”

“My name is Jiwon, and I’m older than you, so you must call me Jiwon hyung.” Jiwon said strictly and led Sunghoon to student council room. He waited Sunghoon to enter the room and locked the door.

“Listen, I need your help.” Jiwon said and looked into Sunghoon’s eyes, tried to convinced him, “My aunt will ask you to join a boyband project and I hope you’ll help me by rejecting the offer.”

“I? Boyband? Your aunt? I don’t understand.”

Jiwon sighed and explained, “My aunt is our headmaster, Ms. Park. She wants to make a boyband performance on Summer Festival. The boyband will be consisting of YG Academy high school’s student. The very first member is me and I hate this idea, so I hope you will reject this offer and she will disclose this project.”

“Can I ask you something?”

“Go on.”

“Why did she chooses you? And I? practically I’m not having any interest in music.”

“She chooses me because she loves my rap. And she chooses you because it’s a waste seeing you chose to become a chemist instead a singer. She said that your voice is above the average people.”

“Ah..” Sunghoon seems to understand Jiwon’s explanation, “Okay. I’ll help you then. Became a singer is a nonsense.”

“Then let’s go to the headmaster room.” Jiwon unlocked the door and led Sunghoon to the headmaster room.

Jiwon and Sunghoon don’t know that Danny heard all of their conversation. Danny smiled and said to himself, “Ms. Park prediction is true. But Jiwon still losing anyway. Ms. Park held her truff card under Jiwon’s nose.”

 

***

 

“YOU SAID YOU’LL HELP ME!!”

“I know, hyung, I know.” Sunghoon said repeatedly, tried to make Jiwon calm down, “But I need that reference letters if I want to continue my study at MIT!”

“BOY, YOU DON’T UNDERSTAND…..”

“Hyung, really, I knows what you are feeling right now. We both didn’t have any confidence to show our talents in music, but trust me. I’ll make it work.”

Jiwon still angry and tried to calm down by looking out to the window. He let his angry gone, and said, “You really wants to become a chemist then.”

“Yes. And I’m really sorry. I’ll do everything until you stop mad at me.”

 

***

 

“So….basically he is your slave?” Myeonghoon whispered to Jiwon, “He follows you everywhere!”

“First, he is not my slave. Second, he follows me because we told to do so.”

“You accept Ms. Park idea? Whoa. This is new.”

Jiwon gave Myeonghoon a bitter laugh and replied, “I just don’t want someone dream scattered because of me.”

“Uh?”

Sunghoon knocked Jiwon’s classroom door, “I’m sorry but I think I want to talk with Jiwon hyung.”

Jiwon got up from his chair, and said, “Wae, Hoon-ah?”

“I think I found Jaejin hyung….”

Jiwon scratched his head first, “Okay then. Lets go.”

Sunghoon led him to the rooftop. Before he opened the door to the rooftop, he turned his back and said, “Actually, I’m scared right now. Danny hyung gave me Jaejin hyung’s personal information and he warned me that Jaejin hyung is strange.”

“Huh? Why?”

Sunghoon looked around the stairs, make sure that no one else in the stairs except he and Jiwon.

“Jaejin hyung loves to draw while he is topless.” Sunghoon shivered and said, “He really like a pervert person!”

Jiwon laughed and said, “Maybe his brain will work well when he is topless.”

“Hyung.”

“Hmm?”

“If…if Jaejin hyung started to act like a pervert person…ummm can you please protect me?”

“huh?” Jiwon asked back, “Hoon-ah, He is a normal person!”

“Just..in case.” Sunghoon pleaded, “Pleaseeeeee”

“Okay..okay…Now, just meet him first and I can protect you later!”

Sunghoon opened the door and Sunghoon so surprised because Jaejin stood up right beside the door, and Jaejin said, “Well well. I think I have a guest.”

 

PRESENT TIME

 

“Damn…”

Jiwon massaged his temples. His felt dizzy after suddenly awake like that. He looked the clock and realizes that he is on office and fall asleep like what he did yesterday. He looked around, tried to search a reason why he awake from his sleep.

“Eun Jiwon hyung, do you heard me?” Jaejin yelled. His voice must be the reason why he suddenly awoke.

“Hear what?” Jiwon still massaged his temples, and come into Jaejin’s chair, “Sorry, I just thinking about Jaedukie review about Vietnam restaurant at Chungdam.”

“Just say sorry to us, me and Suwon, right now.”

“Sorry for?”

“For not believing me and Suwon that Sunghoon is in Japan.” Jaejin said while grinning.

“I don’t under…”

Jaejin threw research report from Jiyong to his table and stood up, “Go there and you will know why I and Suwon insisted that Sunghoon is in Japan.”

 

 

SURVEY RESULT : 95% CHOOSE SAITAMA AS A FAVORITE PLACE FOR 2018 SUMMER VACATION

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

